An Art Teacher’s Confession

Let me just say right here, ok, I haven’t studied art formally, professionally. Wait a minute, I studied architecture in high school and at the university level…but that’s not art. Not artsy art anyway. So I am learning as I go along, but one of the most fascinating things I have learned about art is that it is highly engaging. One day after my 8th graders were looking like they were ready to storm the royal palace, I reached for the art book to begin our new unit: 3D art. And sara7atan (honestly) they were all in. Smiles replaced frowns, motion  replaced being motionless, lackadaisical was replaced with fantastical…I mean look at some of these Picasso-inspired works of art:

Moral of the story: let creativity chase away lethargy. And whatever you create be joyful and grateful…and praiseful to Him worthy of praise, the best of all creators.

“And We have created the human being out of an extract of clay (water and earth). Thereafter We made him (or her) as a fluid (and lodged it) in a safe place. Then We made the fluid into a clot (a piece of thick coagulated blood), then We made the clot into a little lump of flesh, then We made out of that little lump of flesh bones, then We clothed the bones with flesh, and then We brought it forth as another creation. So blessed be Allah, the Best of creators.”

(Sura Mu’mineen, aayaat 12 -14)

One thought on “An Art Teacher’s Confession

  1. Umm Abdurrahman says:

    Very nice art! The students came up with some great creations of their own. Alhamduilah for your spark of creativity that guided this project.

Leave a comment